Articles — vegan anda RSS


Are Eggs Vegetarian?

Do you ever wonder whether eggs are veg or non-veg? Some consider that since eggs are not animal flesh, they are technically vegetarian, according to the definition of vegetarianism as a diet that eliminates the ingestion of animal flesh (the meat, muscles or tissue of an animal). Many vegetarians eat eggs as part of their diet while avoiding birds, cows, pigs, fish, and any other animals. You're a "ovo-vegetarian," or a vegetarian who eats eggs, according to the nomenclature. Although some people perceive eggs to be vegetarian, they are obviously not vegan. Is the debate indicates eggs being vegetarian? THINK TWICE. The egg is made up of three parts: the shell, the yolk, and the white. The egg whites (albumen) are...

Continue reading



Food Chemistry and Human Nutrition

The chemistry was not really my favourite subject at school.  But when you attach food to anything it just becomes exciting and important. Food is a necessity since time immemorial and today, it becomes the utmost priority to safeguard food and reduce its wastage. This is where food chemistry topics and impact factor comes into the picture. In countries like India, food is available in abundance, much of it is processed and the use of chemical additives is common. In this scenario, much concern is related to cost, quality, variety, convenience and the effects of processing and added chemicals on wholesomeness and nutritive value. Food chemistry is a discipline of food science which deals with the composition and all the properties of...

Continue reading